Estonia Became Independent on February 24, 1918

February 24, 1918 is the day of the first independence of the Republic of Estonia.

Estonia is a nation located in Northern Europe with a population of 1.32 million and a currency of the euro.

The capital, Tallinn, is a large city facing the Gulf of Finland, similarly to the Finnish capital “Helsinki” and the ancient Russian capital “St. Petersburg”.

Estonia, like Denmark, Germany and Sweden, had been under the control of the Russian Empire since the 13th century.

And on this day in 1918, the country became independent of the Russian Empire for the first time.

However, it was occupied by the Soviet Union in 1940 and invaded by Germany the following year.

In 1944, the Soviet Union ruled again, but Estonia became independent again after the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991.

e-Estonia: We have built a digital society and we can show you how.

Recommended for you

  • Comment ( 0 )

  • Trackbacks are closed.

  1. No comments yet.