Quito declared independence on August 10th, 1809

August 10th is the day Ecuador’s capital, Quito, declared independence.

On this day in 1809, Quito declared independence and the movement began.

However in next year, the Spanish army dispatched from Lima in Peru overwhelmed the movement and the independence ended in failure.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.